The British Society for Parasitology Spring 2018 Conference will be held at Aberystwyth University from Sunday 8th April to Wednesday 11th April.

Aberystwyth is situated on the beautiful West coast of Wales, and has a long history of parasitology research. Today we have a large and vibrant parasitology research group at the Institute of Biological, Environmental & Rural Sciences (IBERS). The BSP Spring meeting was last held at Aberystwyth in 1986, so we are looking forward to making 2018 a memorable meeting for you all.

This year we have several diverse and interesting sessions and themes, symposia and workshops including:

• Biannual Trypanosomiasis & Leishmaniasis symposium
• Ecological Parasitology - joint symposium with the British Ecological Society
• Veterinary Parasitology - joint symposium with the British Association for Veterinary Parasitology.
• NC3Rs sponsored Workshop on in vitro Technologies in Cryptosporidium Research.

Within the Helminth theme we have sessions focusing on:
Drug Discovery & Resistance, Epidemiology, Field Work, Immuno-modulation, Intermediate - Host Parasite Interactions, Live Stock Parasitology, Omics, Molecular Communication.

In the Protozoa theme we have sessions on: Cell & Molecular Biology, Clinical Parasitology, Cryptosporidium, Giardia, Malaria Cell Biology, Malaria Immunology & Vaccines, Toxoplasma, Vector-Parasite-Microbiome interactions.

Plus sessions on: Public understanding of Science, Commercialisation of Research, Careers Networking, Meet the Editors, and a WormBase ParaSite Training Session.

Accommodation is available on-campus with rooms in a shared house including breakfast at £30 a night. Aberystwyth also has many hotels and bed & breakfast accommodation available in town.

See this list for links to the University accommodation plus local hotels and a rough guide to the price of rooms: http://bsp.uk.net/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/BSP-2018-Aberystwyth-Accommodation.pdf

Venue: Web Event (Conference)
Organiser Contact Details:
Justin Pachebat

T: 01234 211015


Join the Society

If you are not already a member of the British Soiety for Parasitology you can sign up from here.

Join Here
Dr Alvaro Acosta-Serrano
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
Prof Giancarlo Biagini
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
Ms Isabel Blasco-Costa
Natural History Museum of Geneva
Dr Amy Buck
University of Edinburgh
Prof Peter Chiodini
UCL Hospital for Tropical Diseases
Dr Jim Collins
UT Southwestern Medical Cente
Prof Sheena Cruickshank
University of Manchester
Prof Sarah Culloty
University College Cork
Prof George Dimopoulos
Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health
Prof Mike Doenhoff
University of Nottingham
Dr Chrisophe Eizaguirre
Queen Mary, University of London
Dr Katherine Ellis
Williams Powell
Dr Roger Evans
Prof Andy Fenton
University of Liverpool
Dr Eva Frickel
Francis Crick Institute
Prof Wendy Gibson
University of Bristol
Prof Edmundo Grisard
Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina
Dr Volker Heussler
Bern University
Prof Jane Hodgkinson
Prof Cornelis Hokke
Leiden University Medical Center
Dr Tony Holder
The Francis Crick Institute
Mr Kevin Howe
Prof Joe Jackson
University of Salford
Dr Shahid Khan
Leiden University Medical Center
Dr Susanne Kramer
Biozentrum, Lehrstuhl für Zell-und Entwicklungsbiologie, Universität Würzburg
Prof Alex Loukas
James Cook University
Dr Annette MacLeod
University of Glasgow
Assoc Prof Pascal Mäser
Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute
Prof Aaron Maule
Queen's University Belfast
Greg Mirams
Techion Group Ltd
Dr Sian Mitchell
Prof Eric Morgan
Queen's University Belfast
Prof Grace Mulcahy
UCD Conway
Prof Domenico Otranto
University of Bari
Dr Rachel Paterson
Cardiff University
Dr Raymond Pierce
CIIL, Pasteur Institute of Lille
Prof Robert Poulin
Otago University
Prof Peter Preiser
Nanyang Technological University
Mr Miguel Prudencio
IMM Lisboa
Dr David Thieltges
NIOZ Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research
Dr Karin Troell
National Veterinary Institute
Dr Michael Urbaniak
Lancaster University
Dr Jesus Valenzuela
Prof Joanne Webster
Royal Veterinary College
Dr Susan Wyllie
University of Dundee
Prof Nigel Yarlett
PACE University
Prof Maria Yazdanbakhsh
Leiden University Medical Center
Prof Tim Yoshino
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Eventflo Home
copyright British Society for Parasitology (BSP), eventflo.co.uk, Labhoo Ltd 2003-2021